Images courtesy of the artist

The Magnetic Fields 50 Song Memoir
Album stream ,

This Friday The Magnetic Fields are releasing a new 50-tracks spanning album, one for each year of Stephin Merritt's life. Here are all 5 discs for you to stream in full.

Disc one covers 1966 through 1975. Stephin Merritt's first ten years, from conception through his early musical and religious epiphanies. Disc two is available for streaming on Marc 7th and covers the synth-laden 80s.
Disc three can be heard on March 8th. It's about the time Merritt formed The Magnetic Fields.
Disc four and five will follow the days after.

Rules for this album were: No more than seven instruments per song, no instrument used more than seven times across the album.

We have labelled 50 Song Memoir with our editor's choice badge, which means we totally dig the record. Make sure you listen to it at least once. 50 Song Memoir will be available on Mar 10, 2017. It will be released via . You can stream it via NPR. Also check out our The Magnetic Fields artist profile to find eventual tour dates in your area and links to the official web and social media pages of The Magnetic Fields. Last but not least make sure you scroll down and check out reviews for '50 Song Memoir'.

And if you like what you hear, get it over at iTunes or Amazon.

50 Song Memoir tracklist

Disc 1
01. ’66 Wonder Where I’m From
02. ’67 Come Back as a Cockroach
03. ’68 A Cat Called Dionysus
04. ’69 Judy Garland
05. ’70 They’re Killing Children Over There
06. ’71 I Think I’ll Make Another World
07. ’72 Eye Contact
08. ’73 It Could Have Been Paradise
09. ’74 No
10. ’75 My Mama Ain’t

Disc 2
01. ’76 Hustle 76
02. ’77 Life Ain’t All Bad
03. ’78 The Blizzard of ’78
04. ’79 Rock’n’Roll Will Ruin Your Life
05. ’80 London by Jetpack
06. ’81 How to Play the Synthesizer
07. ’82 Happy Beeping
08. ’83 Foxx and I
09. ’84 Danceteria!
10. ’85 Why I Am Not a Teenager

Disc 3
01. ’86 How I Failed Ethics
02. ’87 At the Pyramid
03. ’88 Ethan Frome
04. ’89 The 1989 Musical Marching Zoo
05. ’90 Dreaming in Tetris
06. ’91 The Day I Finally…
07. ’92 Weird Diseases
08. ’93 Me and Fred and Dave and Ted
09. ’94 Haven’t Got a Penny
10. ’95 A Serious Mistake

Disc 4
01. ’96 I’m Sad!
02. ’97 Eurodisco Trio
03. ’98 Lovers’ Lies
04. ’99 Fathers in the Clouds
05. ’00 Ghosts of the Marathon Dancers
06. ’01 Have You Seen It in the Snow?
07. ’02 Be True to Your Bar
08. ’03 The Ex and I
09. ’04 Cold-Blooded Man
10. ’05 Never Again

Disc 5
01. ’06 “Quotes”
02. ’07 In the Snow White Cottages
03. ’08 Surfin’
04. ’09 Till You Come Back to Me
05. ’10 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
06. ’11 Stupid Tears
07. ’12 You Can Never Go Back to New York
08. ’13 Big Enough for Both of Us
09. ’14 I Wish I Had Pictures
10. ’15 Somebody’s Fetish

'50 Song Memoir' Reviews

We currently know 4 reviews for "50 Song Memoir" by The Magnetic Fields. The album received pretty solid reviews among the critics and is one of the better ones this year.

"Though it lacks its predecessor’s immediate accessibility, it benefits from an aesthetic texture that’s grander, darker, and more satisfying, if only for the sense that memoirs don’t have to be confessional; they can tell a life’s story through tone and structure in addition to words. A good gimmick, it goes to show, has the power to transcend itself."

91 % The A.V. Club
"An unprecedented two-and-a-half-hour journey into the typically guarded Merritt’s life, the album is as revealing as it is resonant."

83 % Consequence of Sound
"It all adds up to a life well-lived, in affecting songs."

80 % Record Collector
"It helps that most of the album sits squarely in Merritt’s musical comfort zones."

74 % Pitchfork

Disclaimer: There are no download links or leaks on . It is not allowed to link to filesharing sites (e.g. Torrent)!