Images courtesy of the artist

Jherek Bischoff Cistern
New song ,

Jherek Bischoff, a great guy, great musician and fellow companion of the great Amanda Palmer, will release a new album called "Cistern" soon. This is the title track.

When it comes to explaining the motivation behind the track, Bischoff states: "Underground in pitch black, without the ability to see, the sound of the space is even more exaggerated. What is revealed instantly is a reverberation unlike anything you have ever experienced. The vast emptiness of the cistern generates a reverb decay that lasts 45 seconds. That means, if you snap your fingers, the sound lasts 45 seconds. That amount of reverberation is an absolutely wild environment to try to create music in. Since there is no electricity in the cistern, I hooked my computer up to a car battery and setup a couple of microphones around the room. You have to adapt, walking and talking very quietly and being very patient, because every sound you make lasts 45 seconds. I would press the space bar to record, and I would have to wait 45 seconds before even beginning to make music. If I shuffled my feet or cleared my throat, I’d have to wait another 45 seconds. It was a bit maddening at times. When going into the cistern to improvise, I had no intention of making an ambient record, and had no idea I would be inspired by the space as much as I was. But as soon as I began to make music in that space, I knew that I had just embarked on a journey. The very first improvisation became the title track of Cistern. It started out simply as a piece with acoustic guitar and singing. It was unlike any music I had created before, and lead to my exploring new territory as a composer."

The song is taken from the new album "Cistern" which will be released on 15 July 2016. Stream it courtesy of Stereogum. Also check out our Jherek Bischoff artist profile to find eventual tour dates in your area and links to the official web and social media pages of Jherek Bischoff.

And if you like what you hear, get it over at iTunes or Amazon.

Cistern tracklist:

1. “Automatism”
2. “Closer To Closure”
3. “Cas (s) iopeia”
4. “Headless”
5. “Lemon”
6. “Attuna”
7. “The Wolf”
8. “Cistern”
9. “The Sea’s Son”

Disclaimer: There are no download links or leaks on . It is not allowed to link to filesharing sites (e.g. Torrent)!